Discover the best in Bodrum

Cartoon artists compete in Bodrum

Cartoon artists compete in Bodrum

The selective committee of the 29th Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition will gather today in the Aegean province of Muğla’s Bodrum district.

The competition, which is organized every year by the Aydın Doğan Foundation and regarded as one of the world’s premier cartoon competitions, originally included 944 cartoonists from 80 countries with 2,945 cartoons. The pre-selective committee has chosen 175 cartoons from 147 artists to present to the international selective committee.

The selective committee of this year’s competition includes Ercan Akyol Latif Demirci, Piyale Madra, Tan Oral and Selçuk Demirel (Turkey), Antonio Antunes (Portugal), Viktor Kudin (Ukraine), Stan Mack (United States), Firoozeh Mozaffari (Iran), Ralph Steadman (Britain) and Zhu Zizun (China).

The winner of the competition will earn $8,000, the runner-up will win $5,000 while third place will receive $3,500. Twelve cartoonists who win the success award will be given $500 each.

The award-winning cartoons will be displayed between June 6 and 14 in Bodrum. All winners will be presented their awards on Oct. 9.